Polls open Tuesday for primary

Voters in Cass County will head to the polls Aug. 4 for the 2020 Primary Election.

In addition to a variety of national, state and local races, local voters will also be voting on Constitutional Amendment No. 2.

The Cass County Clerk’s Office will make sure that proper COVID-19 safety protocol will be followed at all polling locations.

Cass County clerk Jeff Fletcher said, “We will be doing everything that we can to provide patrons with the proper equipment necessary for safety.

“The judges will be cleaning voting areas frequently and hand sanitizer will be available at all locations to keep things sanitary. We will provide desktop sneeze guards and cleaning solutions for all utensils,” he said. “The iPad will be operated using a stylus that will be cleaned in our solution after every use. All writing utensils will be sanitized between each use as well.”

Fletcher added, “The six-feet rule will be enforced and we will monitor that by marking the floors with permission in order to keep people socially distanced. However, we will not require masks, but they will be strongly encouraged.

“We want patrons to wear what they feel protected in. If you feel the need to wear a mask, we encourage you to do that,” he said. “If the c0unty or even if the city mandates a mask requirement, we will abide and require all voters to wear a mask.”

Fletcher said, “All usual voting requirements will be in place including voter registration and a valid form of identification. We really plan for everything to be safe and smooth.”

A number of races will be determined Aug. 4 as they move unchallenged into the November General Election.

At the national level, incumbent Republican Vicky Hartzler is up for re-election to her seat in the U.S. House of Representatives from District 4. She faces Neal Gist on the Republican ballot and Lindsey Simmons on the Democrat ballot. Robert E. Smith and Steven K. Koonse are on the Libertarian ballot for the seat.

Four Republicans, five Democrats, one Libertarian and one Green Party candidate are vying for their party’s nod for the governor’s seat. Republicans are Raleigh Ritter, Mike Parson, James W. “Jim” Neely and Saundra McDowell. Democratic candidates are Nicole Galloway, Jimmie Matthews, Antoin Johnson, Eric Morrison and Robin John Daniel Van Quaethem. Rik Combs is a candidate on the Libertarian ticket and Jerome Howard Bauer is on the Green Party ticket.

Eight hopefuls are on the ballot for lieutenant governor. Candidates are Republicans Arnie C. AC Dienoff, incumbent Mike Kehoe, Aaron T. Wisdom and Mike Carter; Democrats Gregory A. Upchurch and Alissia Canady; Libertarian Bill Slantz; and Green Party candidate Kelley Dragoo.

Candidates for state secretary of state include Republican incumbent John R. “Jay” Ashcroft; Democrat Yinka Faleti; Libertarian Carl Herman Freese; Green Party Candidate Paul Lehman; and Constitution Party candidate Paul Venable.

On the ticket for state treasurer are Republican incumbent Scott Fitzpatrick; Democrat Vicki Lorenz England; Libertarian Nicholas “Nick” Kasoff and Green Party candidate Joseph Civettini.

And finally, at the state level, candidates for the attorney general’s seat are Republican incumbent Eric Schmitt; Democrats Rich Finneran and Elad Gross; and Libertarian Kevin C. Babcock.

In the race for the State Senate fromDistrict 31 are Republicans Jack Bondon, Rick Brattin and Bill Yarberry. Raymond Kinney is the lone candidate for that seat on the Democrat ticket.

State representative candidates in District 33 on the Republican ballot are Chris Sander and Alex Holt. No Democrats filed.

John D. Boyd, Jr. is the Republican candidate for state representative in District 37. Annette Turnbaugh is the Democratic candidate. Green Party candidate Daniel Karam is also on the ballot.

Republican incumbent Mike Haffner is the lone candidate on the Republican ticket for state representative in District 55. No Democrat filed.

State representative candidates in District 56 are Michael Davis, Chip Anderson and John Webb. On the Democrat ballot is Neal Barnes.

Incumbent Roger L. Reedy is unopposed for the House seat in District 57. No Democrats filed.

At the local level, incumbent for Associate Commissioner in District 1, Monty Kisner, faces challenger Dallas Register on the Republican ticket. The winner of that race will face Democrat Janet Burlingame in the November General Election.

Incumbent Jimmy Odom faces Ryan Johnson for the Associate Commissioner District 2 seat on the Republican ticket. The race will be over in the primary as no Democrats filed for the seat.

Another race that will be decided in the primary is that of Cass County Sheriff. Incumbent Jeff Weber is being challenged by Terry Dotson. Both filed on the Republican ticket.

Going unchallenged in the election are Republicans Roger Raffety for assessor, Steve Cheslik for treasurer and Randy Jones for public administrator.

Constitutional Amendment No. 2

A “yes” vote will amend the Missouri Constitution to adopt Medicaid Expansion for persons 19 to 64 years old with an income level at or below 133 percent of the federal poverty level, as set forth in the Affordable Care Act.

Currently, Medicaid eligibility is set forth in state statute, but this amendment adds Medicaid Expansion to the constitution.

This amendment prohibits placing greater or additional burdens on eligibility or enrollment standards, methodologies or practices on persons covered under Medicaid Expansion than on any other population eligible for Medicaid.

The amendment requires state agencies to take all actions necessary to maximize federal financial participation in funding medical assistance under Medicaid Expansion.

Federal law requires states to fund a portion of the program in order to receive federal funding (state match). This amendment does not provide new state funding or specify existing funding sources for the required state match.

A “no” vote will not amend the Missouri Constitution to adopt Medicaid Expansion.

If passed, this measure has no direct impact on taxes.

Polls open at 6 a.m. Aug. 4 and will remain open until 7 p.m. in Cass County.

Polling locations are listed on the Cass County website and on page 7B in this week’s edition of The South Cass Tribune.

For information about the candidates on the Aug. 4 Primary Election ballot, see our Election Preview is Section C of this week’s edition.


More Stories